Alaska Airlines Negotiations Update – 09/18/2018


Sisters and Brothers:

The joint Alaska Airlines Negotiating Committee continued negotiations with Alaska Airlines management September 11-13, 2018, in Seattle, Washington.  It was agreed that whole sessions would no longer be dedicated to either the COPS or RSSA groups, respectively, and as such, both agreements would and could be discussed.

Represented by the Company were: Wayne Newton, Vice President/AOCS; Bob Hartnett, Labor Director; Denise Kliskey, COPS Labor Manager; Melinda Maher, Division Controller;  and, Rebecca Meissner, Company Attorney.

The Company was without their lead negotiator, former VP/Labor Greg Mays, as his last day with Alaska was the previous week.  We look forward to meeting his replacement, once she or he is announced, and continuing our work towards a great contract for our workgroups.

Joining the Negotiating Committee were James Carlson, Assistant Airline Coordinator, and Kris Hannah, Grand Lodge Representative.

The Committees exchanged proposals for the following articles:

6 (RSSA) — Overtime

8 (RSSA) — Field Service **Tentative Agreement**

In addition to the above articles, your Committee continued discussions pertaining to Sick Leave (Article 14 for COPS and RSSA) and Seniority (Article 9 for COPS and RSSA).  Your Committee and the Company remain apart on our respective proposals for Sick Leave, though we were able to make some progress.  Our discussion regarding Seniority made some headway.  We look forward to continuing discussions on these two respective topics in the future.

The next negotiations session is scheduled for October 23-25, 2018, in Seattle, Washington.

There is one source of official communications regarding these negotiations – that is those issued by your Negotiating Committee.

Remember: United we stand, divided we beg.


In Unity,

Jeff Tobius

Justin Bates (ANC)       Jesse Wilson (ANC)    Jason McAdoo (JNU)    Dan Suafoa (SEA)
Enrique Rebollo (SEA)     Nisha Chaudry (SFO)   Jennifer Araujo (LAX)    Jackson Hartsfield (LAX)
Joe Shultz (PHX)                Linda Romaniello (FLL)