(704)357-0027 manager@vl1725.org


Sisters and Brothers:

The joint Alaska Airlines Negotiating Committee continued negotiations with Alaska Airlines management October 23-25, 2018,  in Seattle, Washington.  Both the COPS and RSSA agreements were discussed during this session.

Represented by the Company were: Wayne Newton, Vice President/AOCS; Jeff Butler, VP/Inflight and Call Centers; Jason Barry, Managing Director of Cargo; Bob Hartnett, Labor Director; Denise Kliskey, Labor Manager; Melinda Maher, Division Controller and Rebecca Meissner, Company Attorney.

Joining the Negotiating Committee were:  James Carlson, Assistant Airline Coordinator; Kris Hannah, Grand Lodge Representative and Brianna Gregory, Grand Lodge Representative.

The Company presented your Union Committee with a comprehensive ‘Proposal for Settlement’ for both COPS and RSSA agreements.  To say the least, we were highly disappointed in the content of the proposals.  The entirety of the proposals – including wages, job security, insurance and retirement – were wholly insufficient and do not reflect what anyone would expect of an award-winning Company.  After we spent the first part of our session asking questions of the Company to gain a better understanding of their dismal proposals, your Committee began work on preparing a counter offer.

While the content proposed by the Company was disheartening, it must be recognized that this is a ‘first pass’ attempt made by the Company.  Negotiations are, by design, a ‘back and forth’ affair.  And, as such, your Committee will be responding in kind during our next session.

The next negotiations session is scheduled for December 11-13, 2018, in San Francisco, California. 

There is one source of official communications regarding these negotiations – that is those issued by your Negotiating Committee.

Remember: United we stand, divided we beg.


In Unity,

Jeff Tobius

Justin Bates (ANC)       Jesse Wilson (ANC)    Jason McAdoo (JNU)    Dan Suafoa (SEA)
Enrique Rebollo (SEA)     Nisha Chaudry (SFO)   Jennifer Araujo (LAX)
Jackson Hartsfield (LAX)           Joe Shultz (PHX)                Linda Romaniello (FLL)



image_pdfDownload PDFimage_printPrint Post