(704)357-0027 manager@vl1725.org


Sisters and Brothers:

The joint Alaska Airlines Negotiating Committee continued negotiations with Alaska Airlines management this week in Seattle, Washington, at the SeaTac DoubleTree.

Represented by the Company were:  Greg Mays, Vice President/Labor; Wayne Newton, Vice President/AOCS; Constance von Muehlen, Managing Director/M&E; Bob Hartnett, Labor Director; Denise Kliskey, COPS Labor Manager; Maranda Rosenthal, Senior Attorney, and Rebecca Meissner, Company Attorney.

Joining your Negotiating Committee were: James Carlson, Assistant Airline Coordinator; Kris Hannah, Grand Lodge Representative; and Brianna Gregory, Special Representative.

As Alaska Airlines Management has withdrawn their grievance challenging the IAM’s right to open the COPS contract alongside the RSSA Agreement, time was spent with the parties agreeing to protocol as to how negotiations will proceed forward.  The Company and your Committee have agreed to identify what contract will be discussed (COPS or RSSA) during future sessions, which will ensure that the Company has the proper individuals present during negotiations to discuss the issues at hand.  Further, as Negotiations reach common issues between the COPS and the RSSA Agreements, the Company has committed to talking about those identified topics simultaneously.

Your Committee also made proposals for the RSSA Agreement for the following articles:

11 – Leaves of Absence;    12 – Training;   15 – Transportation.

No Tentative Agreements were reached during this session, however significant progress and great dialogue was had regarding the above-mentioned articles.  The Company and your Committee each have an understanding of the other side’s positions and have committed to working through the differences separating each other.

The next negotiations session is scheduled for January 30 through February 1, 2018, in Portland, Oregon, and will be focused on the COPS contract. 

There is one source of official communications regarding these negotiations – that is those issued by your Negotiating Committee.


Remember: United we stand, divided we beg.

In Unity,

Jeff Tobius


Justin Bates (ANC)       Jesse Wilson (ANC)    Jason McAdoo (JNU)    Dan Suafoa (SEA)
Enrique Rebollo (SEA)     Nisha Chaudry (SFO)   Jennifer Araujo (LAX)
Jackson Hartsfield (LAX)     Joe Shultz (PHX)    Linda Romaniello (FLL)




Please Post On All IAM Bulletin Boards

image_pdfDownload PDFimage_printPrint Post